David Philippaerts#19



DoB: 7/12/1983
Height: 180 cm
Weight: 74kg
Residence: Milan, Italy
Hometown: Pietrasanta
Bike: YZ450FM


2011: 9th MX1 World Championship
2010: 3rd MX1 World Championship
2009: 4th MX1 World Championship
2008: MX1 World Champion

Recent Activity


The 67th edition of the Motocross of Nations has welcomed 85.000 motocross mad spectators during an action packed weekend which has seen over 40 nations battle for the coveted Chamberlain Trophy.  The Talkessel circuit in Teutschenthal, Germany marked an impressive appearance for no less than 9 of the THOR supported riders representing  6 different nations:

Gautier Paulin – France
Christophe Charlier – France
Jeremy VanHorebeek – Belgium
Brett Metcalfe – Australia
Todd Waters – Australia
David Philippaerts – Italy
Alessandro Lupino – Italy
Valentin Guillod – Switzerland
Kenneth Gundersen – Norway


THOR was able to celebrate a well deserved victory with Jeremy Van Horebeek and Team Belgium after they toppled Team GERMANY (last years winners) to hoist the Chamberlain trophy on the top step of the podium. A further two more podiumspots were filled with THOR riders David Philippaerts and Alessandro Lupino representing TEAM ITALY alongside Antonio Cairoli for 3rd on the rostrum.

lupino_CX7C7127 DP19_DSC3349(72dpi)

Brett Metcalfe and Todd Waters were favorites alongside countryman Dean Ferris after Metcalfe won his qualification race beating Ryan Dungey to the checkered flag. 10 – 8 scores for Mettcalfe in his moto’s secured 4th place for TEAM Australia.


Gauiter Paulin and Christophe Charlier were disappointed with their scores which saw France finish in 5th place.


Swiss talent Valentin Guillod found himself in leading the first MX1-MX2 moto.  The 21 year-old showed great tenacity in the opening laps to lead the world’s fastest riders. He eventually ended 9th.


Next’s year’s edition will see all nations travel to Latvia to battle for the chamberlain trophy and the bragging rights of best MX Nation in the world.

2013 Thor International MX1 and MX2 Team Riders Announced

Thor MX is proud to announce it’s 2013 International Team. This years GP MX1 team riders are #21 Gautier Paulin, #89 Jeremy Van Horebeek, and #19 David Philippaerts. In the 2013 GP MX2 class we have #300 Alessendro Lupino, #200 Arnoud Tonus, and #23 Christophe Charlier. We would like to wish all of our riders the best this year. For more info on each rider check out the team rider pages and stay tuned for more info.

FIM Motocross World Championship Update

In Europe, Thor’s Ryan Villopoto was in attendance for the eighth round of the FIM Motocross World Championship in Bastogne, Belgium, where he signed autographs and helped announce the first moto. Thor’s Tommy Searle was able to earn his third victory of the season in the MX2 class, while Thor teammate Joel Roelants rode to fourth overall with a 4-5. In the MX1 class, Gautier Paulin grabbed fifth overall, while Xavier Boog was eighth overall and David Philippaerts rounded out the top 10.

For all the latest from Thor, be sure to visit thormx.com, Thor on Facebook and follow @ThorMXOfficial on Twitter.